Photo journal: The Weekend.

Loading up the car for our weekend Fellowship retreat with the Bratislava International Congregation. We are headed to Svaty Jur a nearby village, where we will stay in a Lutheran retreat center along with a number of other member of the church. To say that we load up this car and leave Bratislava often is an understatement, but we actually haven’t been anywhere for two weeks!

Esme relaxing on our terrance before we depart.

 

Opening worship Sat morning.

Opening worship Sat morning.

Children’s Gospel Hour Sat. Morning.

The adult’s gospel hour

Some of Ursula’s friend.

Afternoon hike to the White Castle ruins.

More ruins and forest. Part of the group hiked up and around this castle and then back down thru some of the alleys and vineyards of the village. Part of the group continued up for some more time in the trees.

Dinner prayer (I think it was superman for those who keep track). Many other members of the church joined us for dinner.

Sunday morning, Miriam left for Bratislava to lead worship in the Maly Kostol, and we stayed in Svaty Jur for the closing worship of the retreat. Then every one elso left and Ursula and Esme and I hung out for a while waiting for Miriam to return to pick us up.

Campfire worship.  The weather was turning out better than we thought so we returned to our idea of having a worship around a campfire.  There is a burn ban in the village itself, for some reason with historical backing, but I had been told there was a fire pit up the hill.  I went to check it out after our afternoon hike and found it with three people drinking wine.  After a few minutes of mixed english/ slovak conversation (more english lets be frank).  One of the guys asked me if I could make a fire.  I said I actually needed to make a fire, and I would make one, if they would watch it for me for one hour and keep it going, so that I could return with a group of people for a worship service.  We agreed, I started the fire, went back to the retreat center for dinner, and then the whoel group made it's way up the 45 minute walk to the fire, where we sang and prayed among the fifteen or so other people who had been drawn to the fire.

Campfire worship. The weather was turning out better than we thought so we returned to our idea of having a worship around a campfire. There is a burn ban in the village itself, for some reason with historical backing, but I had been told there was a fire pit up the hill. I went to check it out after our afternoon hike and found it with three people drinking wine. After a few minutes of mixed english/ slovak conversation (more english lets be frank). One of the guys asked me if I could make a fire. I said I actually needed to make a fire, and I would make one, if they would watch it for me for one hour and keep it going, so that I could return with a group of people for a worship service. We agreed, I started the fire, went back to the retreat center for dinner, and then the whole group made it’s way up the 45 minute walk to the fire, where we sang and prayed among the fifteen or so other people who had been drawn to the fire.

How many rooms has Ursula sleep in within the last two years. Alot.
After the Fire worship, the group slowly wandered back down to go to bed.  One last group of us closed it down and then on the walk back we saw some live musicians in a tiny little cafe.  We stopped in and next thing you know Pastor Kyle was strumming with them and I was stomping my feet.

After the Fire worship, the group slowly wandered back down to go to bed. One last group of us closed it down and then on the walk back we saw some live musicians in a tiny little cafe. We stopped in and next thing you know Pastor Kyle was strumming with them and I was stomping my feet.

Looking up at the bell towerOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Miriam returned from Bratislava and we went on a little sunday afternoon walk in the village.  Vineyards, stonewalls, playgrounds, etc.  We all only really broke down right before bed on Sunday night.  Ursula suffered a minor burn on a hot pan, Esme decided that she hadn't gotten enough sleep the night before, when she was happily awake from 2:30 - 4;30 for some odd reason.  I was sore from playing football in the afternoon, and Miriam for some reason was just plain tired.  Luckily for everyone I had no camera in my hand.

Miriam returned from Bratislava and we went on a little sunday afternoon walk in the village. Vineyards, stonewalls, playgrounds, etc. We all only really broke down right before bed on Sunday night. Ursula suffered a minor burn on a hot pan, Esme decided that she hadn’t gotten enough sleep the night before, when she was happily awake from 2:30 – 4;30 for some odd reason. I was sore from playing football in the afternoon, and Miriam for some reason was just plain tired. Luckily for everyone I had no camera in my hand.

 

 

